All our good friends- Inspiring us for 2012/5772

Read below and enjoy the links below from our inspirational friends and you contribute yours time-is-moving-the-shofar-is-blowing-for-our-return-with-kindness NOW!

https://midnightrabbi1eligoldsmith.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/big-news-to-tour-israel-the-best-way-website-is-alive/

Check out Rabbi Sitorsky! He gives eclectic, kabbalah-charged, weekly shiurim on the parsha on MP3. Download at: http://www.rabbisitorsky.com/

http://rabbisitorsky.com/Chumash/Devarim/Nitzvaim/netzavim_5770.MP3

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rabbi-Sitorsky/159097924127665?sk=wall

Gutman live! Now an Audio Podcast!

From The Old City is now available as a weekly audio Podcast. You can subscribe by clicking on the following link, or by searching the iTunes store:

http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/from-the-old-city-by-gutman/id465594080

 new

     The first piece, Rosh Hashanah, will be followed by Yom Kippur, andSukkos. Then the rest of the Torah portions will be available at the beginning of each week throughout the year.

If you enjoy them, it would be good to share them with your friends.

IMG_1012

            Genit’sa Na Evreyka! (Russian)

(Marry a Jewish girl!)

From Rabbi Price with thanks The Real Me

On Rosh Hashanah, especially, we have to know who we really are.

I am relating here an inspirational sicha I saw in Chumash Hamagidim,  Parshas Bamidbar-Shavuos p. 37, from Rabbi Yaacov Galinsky about this topic.

Rav Yaacov Galinsky, shlita, started his sicha by quoting the paragraph that we say during the Yom Tov and Rosh Hashanah davening.

“אתה בחרתנו מכל העמים, אהבת אותנו,ורצית בנו,ורוממתנו מכל הלשונות,וקדשתנו במצותיך, וקרבתנו מלכנו לעבודתך, ושמך הגדול והקדוש עלינו קראת.”

“You have chosen us from all the peoples; You loved us and found favor in us; You exalted us above all the tongues and You sanctified us with your commandments. You drew us close, our King, to Your service and proclaimed Your great and Holy Name upon us.”

He then relates the following story:

“During the War, I was imprisoned in a camp in Siberia. There were many imprisoned Lithuanian Generals and government officials with me as well.

I remember that one night, in the middle of the night I noticed a tall fellow getting up, looking around to make sure that no one was watching and then he bent down and took a package that he always kept with him.

He opened the package and quickly took off his prisoner’s clothes and put on the clothes that he took from the package. I saw that this was a uniform of a General that he used to wear before he was imprisoned.

After he donned the uniform, he made different movements with his hands and feet like a soldier or officer would do. When he finished, he put back on his prisoner’s clothing, put the General’s uniform back in the package and hid it under his bed and went to sleep

The next morning as we were walking to work I approached him and whispered to him, ‘What were you doing there in the middle of the night?’

‘What, you saw!?’

‘Don’t worry, I won’t tell anybody, but please tell me what you were doing.’

He bent down towards me and said, ‘They think that we are their slaves, but I, I won’t forget that I am a General. I decided that at least one moment during the day, I must wear my General’s uniform, to know who the REAL ME is. I should know my real worth. What I do the rest of the day [my slavery] does not interest me. The REAL ME is that moment that you saw [me wearing my General’s uniform].’

Rav Galinsky continued his sicha , ‘Rabosai-My Teachers, do you hear these words. We have to apply these words to ourselves.

A Jew has to realize that when he does a Mitzvah that is the REAL ME. A Jew gets up in the morning to serve Hashem, that’s the REAL ME. If he does crazy things the rest of the day that’s not the REAL ME, that is just the yetzer horo-evil inclination who [momentarily] has captured me.

When I daven-pray, learn Torah, when I do Chesed, when I do Mitzvos, I am bigger than all, I am Jew, a son of the chosen Nation. As we say in the Yom Tov prayers, ‘You have chosen us from all the peoples.’

Rav Galinsy concluded by reciting the last half of the prayer, ‘You loved us and found favor in us; You exalted us above all the tongues and You sanctified us with your commandments. You drew us close, our King, to Your service and proclaimed Your great and Holy Name upon us.’

אשרינו מה טוב חלקנו-We are fortunate-How good is our portion.

ונזכה שבקרוב,ה’ יראה גם לכל העולם את גדלותו של עם ישראל בגאולה שלימה                     במהרה בימינו. א גוט יום טוב.                                                                 

We should merit that soon Hashem will show the whole world the greatness of the Jews with the complete redemption speedily in our days. A Gutten Yom Tov. Till here is from Rav Galinsky.

I just wanted to bring a story that echoes this point that we have to know who the REAL ME is.  

“See I have given you blessing and curse, good and bad… to love G-d and to go in his ways…

but if you turn away and serve idolatry…” [1]

So we see that there are two paths in life: good blessings, or bad curses. Therefore we must choose between loving G-d or turning away from Him. But unlike another similar instance [2] the Torah does not tell us which of these options is the good one and which is the bad one.  Rather here the commentaries are left to [3] point it out.

And so we must choose between life or death. But what is the choice? Of course any sane person would choose life! Where is our free will?

A number of years ago, I was travelling from England and received a request to bring a number of jars of Marmite back with me. Happy to help out a friend I obliged.

After I collected my cases from the x-ray machine, I preceded towards check-in. At this point I was stopped by a security guard, “Marmite?” he accused me.

“Erm… yes.” “Yuck! Those are jars of Marmite?”

“That is correct.” “But 5 jars?”

Everyone has their own tastes and preferences, and the Torah and spirituality is no different.

Loving G-d is blessing and life, whereas deviating from Him is death and curses. But some people live their lives with the exact opposite outlook. In fact, there are probably more people living with an outlook opposite to that of the Torah.

A number of years ago I went to a friend’s house for a Shabbos meal

“Do you want some cholent?” he asked me in his thick American accent, “it’s sick!”

“Well if it is sick”, I replied, “Why would I want to eat it?”

Today bad can also mean good and sick can also mean tasty.

Indeed everyone has their own tastes and even perceptions.

But our free will is to “see” and choose, believe and realise that the “life” and “death” as described in the Torah is just that.

“Choose life!” [4]. Have a choicest Shabbos,

Danny Leeman – thanks to Daniel Leeman dhl@netvision.net.il

Thanks to Lazer Brody- Lazer Beams -There’s a weird feeling in the air here, sort of an eerie calm that could terminate at the snap of a finger.  The calm might be breaking; 2 hours ago, a Kassam rocket was fired at one of the settlements not far from the Gaza border. In Neve Tzuf in Southern Samaria, PA rioters blocked a road, threw rocks, and clased with the IDF. This just might be a warmup for the coming days – no one knows, not even the Pallies themselves. Why? It’s all up to Hashem.

Turkey is getting more belligerent by the day. Egypt is utter chaos. Jordan won’t be able to beat down its 80% Palestinian population for long.

The wake-up calls in the USA are just as loud. If the average American knew the real value and status of the US Dollar, there’d be no room left in the country’s cardiac wards.

The level of the hate and ridicule mail I’ve been getting lately has never been higher, but that won’t keep me from pleading with everyone – for the sake of your children, at least – to come back to Hashem with all your hearts before Rosh Hashana.

Here’re some good news – a certain elite platoon of IDF soldiers on the Gaza border has fourteen Baalei Teshuva in its ranks. That’s the way to win the war…

 #last #full #week ofthe #Jewish #year!
3 thoughts on “All our good friends- Inspiring us for 2012/5772

Leave a Reply

